Searching in the CMDB

To limit the number of CIs in the list, you can use filters (located to the right above the CI list). Clicking on it opens the filter, where you can select or combine various options.

Note:

The filters are only available in the grid view.

 

Quick filter

Some defined filters are located in the upper area of the filter control.

The filter folders All CI and Followed CIs are predefined and available to every user.

The currently selected filter can be adapted via the funnel symbol. When you click on it, the advanced search dialog opens to configure the filter. The criteria of the selected filter are automatically displayed in the dialog already preconfigured and can be changed or deactivated there. New filter criteria can also be added.

If a filter has been adapted, it can be saved. There are two possibilities:

  1. If it is a personal filter, the currently selected filter can be overwritten (disk icon) or saved as a new filter (disk icon with plus).

  2. If the filter can not be overwritten (this includes the predefined filter folders and globally defined filters), the adjusted filter settings can only be saved as a new filter (disk icon with plus).

A filter can be reset by clicking on the red cross. This does not delete the filter, only the filter criteria are removed from the ticket list and all tickets are displayed again. The red cross is displayed only if a personal or a predefined filter has been selected.

 

You can select various criteria using the advanced filter menu (click the red filter icon—see Extended Search).

 

Personal Filters

The Personal Filters category lists all the filters that the logged in user has configured and saved. See also Extended Search.

 

Predefined Filters

The Predefined Filters category displays filters that have been preconfigured in the system - e.g. by administrators The administrator has more extensive rights as a user or supporter. This allows him to make general settings.. These filters can not be overwritten. However, as shown in the figure above, a change can be saved as a new personal filter.

 

Favorites

The Favorites section contains all filters that have been marked as favorites. To mark a filter as a favorite, click the icon next to the filter's name. It will then be marked as a favorite immediately, added to the corresponding section, and the icon next to its name will be highlighted.

To remove a favorite from the list, click the colored icon next to the name.